Day: June 20, 2012

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

An Unexpected Adventure – The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Before I started this, I didn’t know how to read it. That sounds a little foolish for reading to us fortunate people is like breathing. What I mean is how should I read it, what approach is needed for me to enjoy it. These are necessary questions for me because I intend to read The Lord of the Rings books. I thought I’d appreciate the books more by reading the prequel first. Some of my bookish friends say that it’s like a children’s book. And with that, I read it with childlike curiosity. I’m not used to this genre, but this does not mean that I am not familiar with it. Growing up playing console games allowed me to appreciate and even love this book. So what’s it about? Just in case you are one of my kind who never really bother with facts, the book is the story of a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins. What is a hobbit? Well, hobbits are a race of creatures who inhabit the earth along with men, dwarves, and …