Day: June 19, 2012

Some rare, some repeated

A couple of rare encounters and repeated ones

I mentioned that I’ve been buying books for my friends recently. I’m not that selfless, really, for I also bought books for myself. The past week was a great one for book hoards, and here are what I got from the various sale bins that I visited: June 11 – Book Sale – Cityland The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor (Php 115.00) – My breath was literally taken away when I saw this. I already have her other collection of stories, A Good Man Is Hard to Find, but this is book here is the complete collection. It’s also a National Book Award winner. I know, I am not a big fan of that award, but I am a fan of O’Connor’s short fiction. June 15 – Book Sale – Market! Market! Darkness Visible by William Golding (Php 145.00) – A nice copy! And it’s been years since I read Lord of the Flies, which I really like. But really, the next Golding that I wish to read is his Booker-winning Rites of Passage, so …