Day: June 18, 2012

The Sunday Salon - June 18, 2012

Reading: Olive Kitteridge; Absalom, Absalom!

I feel that this week has been a little slow. I’ve been distracted with tons of work and I am a little anxious with our book club’s discussion for July. This is a little unreasonable because our June book discussion is not even over: it’s going to be this Saturday. But I think you’ll find that my anxiety is pretty grounded if I share that we are expecting around 40 people to attend. That’s more than a handful, no? But anyway, I read what I can. Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout Date Started: June 11, 2012. 11:00 PM. Date Finished: June 16, 2012. 11:30 PM. Book #34 of 2012 This is quite a delightful read. It started out strong, but somehow, it didn’t manage to give me the X factor. It is not a thick book, but it took me almost a week to finish it. Nevertheless, I still like it. Olive Kitteridge is a formidable character, but I fear that a decade from now, she might be easily forgotten. Had the novel been focused …