Day: June 11, 2012

Farewell, Lorien!

My favorite place in the Middle Earth

The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien Date Started: June 4, 2012. 1:15 AM. Date Finished: June 11, 2012. 2:30 AM. Book #33 of 2012 It’s Lorien. Or Lothlorien. I haven’t seen the film yet and I think that works to my advantage because my imagination is not influenced by anything. Autumn leaves in winter? That alone tickles my fancy, although I haven’t experienced any autumn or winter yet in my lifetime, my country being a tropical island with eternal summers. And now, I am curious how this place is depicted in the film adaptation, or if it even was included in it. I heard from one of my bookish friends that the scene at the Old Forest was not included. That disappointed me because I like Tom Bombadil. He’s a fun elf (is he an elf?). He’s my favorite LOTR minor character so far. And by minor, I mean one who is not among The Company (Frodo, Sam, Gandalf, Aragorn, Legolas, et al). I also like Lady Galadriel, the lady leader …