Day: June 6, 2012

Back to School Books

I went book shopping twice

It’s June, and it’s that time of the year when some students go book shopping and hunting required by some of their demanding courses. I say some because I was one of those students who survived college thanks to the university library and the photocopy machine. And why am I saying this when I’m already done with college and when the books that I recently got are not even purely academic? Well … I just felt like saying so. June 1, 2012 The Black Book by Orhan Pamuk The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis by Jose Saramago I ordered these two works of two Nobel laureates from Bookay-Ukay, Php 350.00 each, and had them delivered to our office. A little expensive for second-hand books, but they are just as good as new. And when our receptionist informed me that I had a package waiting for me, I was instantly one happy bibliophile. I was too excited to feel and smell the books that I opened them right at my work station. One of …