Day: May 15, 2012

April's Book of the Month

TFG’s Book of the Month for April – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

I am always reminded of my planned write-ups regarding our book club’s discussions when the next one is just a few days in the offing. So yes, this is, again, a little outdated, but what can I do? I have a job to do and some books to read and sleep hours to complete. And I’ll stop whining now and move on. April’s theme was classics. Jane Eyre won the polls, trouncing The Tell-Tale Heart and Other Writings, and Les Miserables. Because a lot of readers are intimidated by classics, I feared that this would turn out to be the least attended book discussion so far (the lowest record is 12, which is the first one), but the number of participants who arrived even doubled that number. There were a lot of people who showed themselves for the first time, and there were even a couple who resurfaced after a long time of absence. So what happened is that our noisy group of almost 30 was broken into three. I was asked by our discussion …