Day: May 8, 2012

This is how old the characters are

Am I exploring young adult fiction too late? – Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

I just recently entered the late twenties and I find it strange to be reading young adult fiction. Just to clarify things, I have nothing against YA fiction or people who read it. I have a number of bookish friends who love it and we still are friends. We don’t even try to convert each other, although I imagine that there’s a secret hope within us, that we explore each other’s books. I find it a little disorienting because it’s my first time. I don’t know what to expect. I was not given a chance to explore this genre because I didn’t know until about two years ago that such a genre exists. I am that ignorant! Whenever I go to book stores, I usually linger at the classics and general fiction sections. When I first got lost at the YA shelves, I thought it was just some fancy division of that book store until I joined our book club and realized that it’s legit. I also have a little problem with it: how do …