Day: May 4, 2012

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

An age I don’t want to live in – The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

I know I am incurring some form of literary sacrilege by failing to appreciate this novel. I remember reading this holding my breath at every stop of a conversation because I feel that the characters are holding their breaths as well lest they do something against their will, rather, something against the expectations imposed on them by their society. You see, the characters are rich New Yorkers who visit each other in carriages or who invite each other to posh parties. It is like excerpts of the parties and dinners from Tolstoy’s War and Peace, only that the times are different: this is set on the years between two centuries. They say that the only people who could write the highest form of literature are those who came from extreme poverty or high-end aristocracy. Wharton comes from the latter. So is this novel a high-end literature? Sure, it’s a Pulitzer winner, but I don’t know. I just don’t dig it. Probably because I find novels about the rich a little empty? We could not blame …