Ex Libris
Comments 8

A Pretty Good Book Hunting Week

You agree that these are good finds, no?

Here’s a summary of the books that I got for the last week of March. Just to let you know, I’ve been to around five second hand book stores. If you continue reading, you can conclude which one is my favorite branch.

Book Sale – Makati Square

March 26, 2012

  • Middlemarch by George Eliot (Php 115.00) – Finally, I found an edition that I like and that is not so expensive. The copies that I usually see at Book Sale are either mass markets or Php 145.00 and up. And yes, my classics challenge pushed me to finally buy this. Really, I had second thoughts. You see, if you see so many cheap books around, you’ll be looking for cheaper copies.

March 29, 2012

  • Edifying Discourses by Soren Kierkegaard (Php 50.00) – I am drawn to Kierkegaard books. It’s mostly because I am drawn to the overviews of his philosophies. I really do not know what to expect of his writings because the little that I’ve read of him came from Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder, but I was warned by a bookish friend that they are not a walk in the park.
  • The Book of Laughter and Forgetting by Milan Kundera (Php 115.00) – This is an uncommon book to find at Book Sale. I am not really a fan of Kundera, but I love his The Unbearable Lightness of Being. I was told by a bookish friend that if I like that, I would definitely enjoy this good find.
  • A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole (Php 115.00) – I already have a copy of this. I’m merely replacing my mass market edition. In fact, there are two copies of it at the same shelf, which is not uncommon for some books but which is a surprise for this one. By the way, this is the only book of the author, so I might as well get this one. And a bookish friend hailed this as her favorite book of 2011.

Books for Less – SM Mall of Asia

March 31, 2012

  • On the Road by Jack Kerouac (Php 248.00) – I’ve been tempted to buy this at a regular book store for twice the price that I got it for. It’s a decent copy; the only problem is the crease that runs from top to the middle at the back cover. I almost didn’t buy it because I thought it was expensive given that crease, but I doubt the regular book stores would slash the price of Kerouac books by half.

This is a scheduled post, and most probably, at the posting hour, I will have eaten breakfast in the idyllic home of my parents. I won’t be around until next week. It’s a long holiday, and I decided to seclude myself from everything urban and electronic, which means I will have to miss my Friday rhapsody for the first time. But hey, I should not let this blog rule me. I should take over it, you see.

8 Comments

  1. Jackie Paulson says

    I love to go to thrift stores or garage sales and pick up books! It’s more than a treasure hunt

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

