Reading
Comments 12

Books To Read: April 2012

Books To Read: April 2012

It’s April, and as usual, I have not finished the March reading plan. I am one book behind. It sucks, I know, so I am making a few adjustments to make this month’s reading plan achievable.

No drastic changes though. I’ll still stick to five required books per month. I’ll just start including our book club’s books of the month in my required reading plan if they are books that are also included in my own reading list. Besides, April’s book of the month is quite thick, so yes, it is necessary to make adjustments.

Anyway, here they are.

  • My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk – A Christmas gift from my bookish friend, Atty. Monique. This is also my pick for my Nobel project. Two of my bookish friends say that this is a fun book. Perhaps I will be reading this next after finishing my March back log.
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – April’s book of the month! This will also be the first book that I’ll be reading for my five-year classics challenge. It was supposed to be Ulysses, which I will be reading with a fellow blogger. But I decided that this is a better book to pick as the first one because first, it’s not as intimidating as Ulysses, and second, it’s our book club’s pick. If you really want to know, our book club is one of the reasons I am reading as much as I am doing now. Otherwise, I would have been just a plain book hoarder who finishes only one book a month.
  • Ulysses by James Joyce – I’ll be reading this with The Misanthropologist. And since it is approximately 25,000 lines, I’ll be keeping a diary of this. By the way, I decided this year to read books of such breadth once a quarter, just so not to give myself some sort of reading fatigue.
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – It’s a part of two classics challenges that I have signed for this year. And I think I need to read this. It’s a classic in every sense of the word. I know, I am not a fan of horror fiction, but I have a feeling that there is more to it than that element.
  • Darkness at Noon by Arthur Koestler – Really, I don’t know what to expect of this. It’s also another one from my classics list. I picked it mainly because it’s not too thick. It’s something that could offset the size of the other April books.

So you see, this month is heavy with classics. I think that’s just apt enough because April is my birthday month. Have a happy reading this April!

12 Comments

  1. Monique says

    Good luck on this reading list, Buddy! I’ve gotten a good head start on Jane Eyre so as to clear my schedule for the other books on my April list. :)

    And yay! You’re going to read Pamuk already! :D

    Like

    • I’m excited! If I finish my backlog on Wednesday, it will be my long holiday read. And oh, I’ll be reading Herta Muller on May. Just a heads up if you are still interested to buddy read that. :)

      Like

    • Monique says

      Yes, let’s read Muller on May. :) Are we going to do it via Goodreads or just post on our blogs? :)

      Like

    • Monique says

      Okay, let’s do both. (I remembered that threads get deleted over time, that’s why I was hesitant to go via Goodreads.) Give me a buzz when the thread’s up. Tagal pa naman eh. ;)

      Like

  2. Jillian ♣ says

    I hope you enjoy Jane Eyre!! It’s one of my favorites, and the book that inspired my own classics journey. :D

    Like

  3. I also have My Name is Red on my desk although I’m not quite sure when I can read it. As for Darkness at Noon, it is classic counter-revolutionary, anti-communist literature. Utterly pessimistic and cynical. Same with Pamuk and Muller. Dark and gloomy. Try balancing these people with more optimistic, progressive, even positively militant literature (like, say, by Saramago, among many others ;)

    Like

    • Hmm. Maybe Jane Eyre can offset them? :D I plan to read another Saramago novel this year. I’m looking at Baltasar and Blimunda.

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

