Day: March 19, 2012

I hope things will start rolling on the 14th

I need a ride – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I just don’t dig this. I don’t get where the craze is coming from. This book has a high average rating, but I think I am missing something. Or perhaps I am among the minority who doesn’t find this a tad enjoyable. Sure, there are funny moments, thanks to the sarcasm that I am inclined to favor, but overall, I am not enjoying. Okay, let’s check the circumstances: I just finished a deep, psychological book about a piano teacher gone wild, I started reading this while I was traveling out of town with my office mates, and I can’t remember when was the last time I read something like this. I remember Never Let Me Go, which is partly science fiction only because the protagonists are clones. That’s it, none of that geeky talk. And in this book, I am lambasted with talk about astrophysics, which could be purely theoretical in the sense that it’s just written for the sake of having an explanation on things lest they have no foundation, regardless of the presence …