Day: March 14, 2012

Are you thinking what I am thinking?

Where’s the smut in this? – The Piano Teacher by Elfriede Jelinek

I’ve seen the film adaptation of this novel by accident. So why am I reading this? Of course, the book is always superior to the film adaptation, and the latter is just the director’s interpretation. I want to have my own interpretation of the novel. The disc is lying on the lone chair of the communal living room of the boarding house that I used to live in. That was more or less a year ago. My board mates cannot be expected to be fastidious. Anyway, I was alone then, and the title piqued my curiosity. Most films with a non-English title intrigue me. I popped the disc on the shared DVD player. There’s a blonde woman who bought a new dress and who was immediately castigated by her nagging mom. The woman bitch-slaps the mom, old enough to risk a cardiac with what her daughter, apparently, did. The woman, who appeared to be a professional with her demeanor, pulled her mother’s hair until she realized that a daughter is not supposed to inflict violence on …