Day: February 21, 2012

The Six Stories of Goodbye, Columbus

More Tales of American Jews – Goodbye, Columbus by Philip Roth

This is quite a break from my readings, but really, it’s not one that I would call a guilty pleasure. The only pleasure that I have from this book is that I can start anywhere. Not exactly anywhere; I mean I can choose any story to read without losing the essence of this collection of short stories. I started with the shortest story first. I was unaffected because I somehow did not get the feel of that story, You Can’t Tell a Man by the Song He Sings. Probably because it’s too short; I’m adjusting myself to short stories. The second shortest story, The Conversion of the Jews, is better. Here’s a snippet of the last few paragraphs: “Mamma, don’t you see-you shouldn’t hit me. He shouldn’t hit me. You shouldn’t hit me about God, Mamma. You should never hit anybody about God-” “Ozzie, please come down now.” “Promise me, promise me you’ll never hit anybody about God.” He had asked only his mother, but for some reason everyone kneeling in the street promised he …