Day: February 10, 2012

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

A mansion is not the best way to win a woman’s heart – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I do not exactly recall why I picked this book. Perhaps I was looking for another great read. After finishing Knut Hamsun’s Hunger, I just felt that I had to read another novel that only spans around 200 pages, yet with a whack in the head like a literary brick. My edition is a mass market paperback, and I felt that I need to know what makes Gatsby so great. Gatsby’s name is invasive. If you are not aware, it’s also the name of a popular line of hairstyling products. Hair gel, wax, and even deodorants, are manufactured by Gatsby. The CEO should be filthy rich, what with the nonstop increase of the products’ demand thanks to the parallel increase of people’s vanity. Just like the company, Gatsby, the main character in the novel, is just as rich. How he did it, we don’t really know, but he is that rich that he bought a mansion where posh parties are held just to be near the person that he loves. Well, is it worth it? …