Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

This is why I love attending book club meetings

Bookish Friends are Good, Good Friends

Bookish Friends are Good, Good Friends

First is, of course, the company. Second, the bookish talks. Third, food. And fourth, free books!

Look here, these are not so common books.

  • Snowdrops by A. D. Miller – Okay, this is recently published, and it’s shortlisted for last year’s Booker. What makes this uncommon is that it’s an advance reading copy. This one is given to me by Big Brother KD. He wants to buddy read this just to see if there’s any major difference between such a copy and the final copy. Given on a book club meeting last January 24.
  • Growth of the Soil by Knut Hamsun – this is uncommon because this book was never carried by local book stores. That is according to Atty. Monique. She bothered to ask this because I wishlisted this book and I want this so bad. This copy, by the way, is given by Kwesi. Don’t ask me why his name is Kwesi. I sort of psyched him to get me this copy as a Christmas gift by giving him a Book Depository link of the cheapest edition that I could find. It was really a joke, and apparently, he understands that jokes are half-meant. I hope that trick will work again. Given on a book discussion last January 28.

Thank you so, so much, KD and Kwesi! I wish I could give you something back in return, but you see, your libraries are nothing compared to mine. And you see, even if I don’t go to book stores or go book binging, books will always find a way to my book shelf.

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

