Day: January 21, 2012

And the Oscar goes to…

The awards season is on, and it is only at this time of the year that I really watch movies. Totally irrelevant, I know, since this is a book blog. And oh, the Oscar, I mean the winner of the Happy Bloggy Birthday Book and Gift Cheque Giveaway is… Wait, let’s check out the entries first. Here they are: Entry No. 1: From my buddy, Atty. Monique. She blogs at Bookish Little Me. Okay, 12 years old. Hmm. I remember wanting to learn how to cook so much that I offered to cook (read: fry) the chicken that my dad prepared for our dinner one time. (Yes, my dad’s the unofficial cook in our house.) After my dad gave me the specific instructions, I donned an apron (no, it doesn’t say “kiss the cook” on it), prepared the pan and the tongs, and proceeded to cook. Well, I didn’t know that I was supposed to let the water on the pan dry up before putting in the oil, or else, puputok. So what happened was, I drizzled …