Day: January 17, 2012

Friday the 13th Books

The Unlucky Books

Not all of them. But yes, three of them were purchased last January 13. Friday. Friday the 13th. Does that ring a bell?

It does! Come and join me, let’s greet my mom a belated happy birthday!

That’s not a joke. She, my mom, celebrated her 4_th birthday last Friday the 13th. And since that day is special to me, I want to have a book bought on that day just to mark the occasion.

  • The Piano Teacher by Elfriede Jelinek – This book has been haunting me since December. Wait. I think it started way earlier than that, probably right after I finished watching its film adaptation. I cannot recall when exactly was that, probably the middle of 2011? Anyway, let me just clarify that my mom is remotely anything like the protagonist of this book. Some of my good bookish friends hate this to the bone. One of them even has the temerity to call this work a smut. What?! I cannot believe that. I am tempted to read this as soon as possible. But there’s  my reading plan in the way. Php 449.00
  • Rabbit, Run and Rabbit Redux by John Updike – I didn’t exactly buy these two on Friday the 13th, but they arrived on that day, right after I ran, literally, from Power Books Glorietta, the book store where I got The Piano Teacher. I got these from eBay.ph at Php 70.00 each. And oh, I already have copies of these. Why did I buy duplicates? Well, my first copies have damaged back covers. If you are interested, I could give them away. Just leave a message here.
  • Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri – I bought this at Books for Less – Eton Centris the day after, Php 148.00. What was I doing there? I was with my bookish friends. We dropped by the said book store after our ocular visit to a charitable institution. You might find it weird that I am visiting charitable institutions, but let me just say that I’ve been doing some charity work since college. In fact, I was a president of a civil service organization during my senior year. I may look like the snootiest snob of all, but I think I have a pretty good sense of social responsibility. And oh, that book by Lahiri is another collection of short stories.