Ex Libris
Comments 8

The Last of Last Year, the First of This Year

The First Batch of Loots

I was becoming pretty desperate for the past few days because I haven’t been able to buy any book. I am not one of those people who are resolving to cut down their expenses by controlling their urges to go book hoarding. Kudos to them! I know it takes a lot to do that, and I don’t think I can so I’ll just carry on indulging myself.

So what did I get?

  • Dog Soldiers by Robert Stone – This is the last book that I got for 2011. I found it at Fully Booked Marquee Mall. Php 70.00. I don’t know what it’s about, but I trust Time Magazine’s list. The store also had Anthony Powell’s A Dance to the Music of Time – Autumn for Php 80.00. I asked two chitchatting staff members if they had any Powell books on the sale bin. I know it’s a futile question because more often than not, they have no idea. But I have to ask anyway, just for the sake of verifying even though it’s pretty much verified as I see it. No, they don’t have other Powell books on sale. Why I didn’t buy it? I want to buy this series in one go.
  • Fatelessness by Imre Kertesz – My first book of the year. I just wanted to buy a book during the first week of the new year. I got this last January 6 at Power Books Greenbelt. Php 469.00. A little pricey for a short book, but I have been meaning to buy this since I first read its blurb. I think I even wishlisted this during our book group’s Christmas Party. Now that’s one wish off my list. And this book is going to give me a problem because I so want to read it soon, which means I will have to replot my reading plan for either February or March.
  • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel – The next day, I went to my dentist. I swung by Book Sale Munoz just because it’s really near the clinic, and I found this! I have been forever battling with myself whether to buy this or not at a regular book store. And just a couple of days ago, I was chatting with a bookish friend regarding this book, or rather about my hopes of seeing this book at Book Sale. Another wish granted. Php 45.00.
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – I also got this at the same store for the same price. I don’t know what it’s about, but it should be a good classic. Why do I say “should”? Php 45.00
  • Severance by Robert Olen Butler – After my dental appointment, I was to meet a friend at Gateway Mall. I swung by Book Sale Farmer’s Plaza despite my friend’s protest, who was already at the meeting place. I’m glad I didn’t have much of a conscience that time because this is a nice loot. This is a collection of short stories about what’s going on inside people’s heads after they are severed from their respective bodies. Short short stories, I must stress, because the severed head’s thought processes do not last that long. Php 45.00.

I’m so happy. And oh, please do not assume that I haven’t been doing my readings. I am still in the middle of 2666. A couple of things just bogged me down, like my inability to wake up early during the weekends. Totally irrelevant, I know, but if we compute the lost hours for reading due to oversleeping, you’ll see what I mean.

8 Comments

  1. Hey! I was at Fully Booked Marquee just yesterday. That Powell book was still there. I didn’t buy it, too, but I got two short story collections by Steven Millhauser for P50 each and the second novel by Joshua Ferris at P80. At those prices, they might as well be free.

    Btw, happy book blog birthday!

    Like

    • My girlfriend lives in Angeles. I visit her every weekend. It was our first time going to Marquee yesterday, actually. We usually gad about the much, much smaller SM Clark.

      Btw, let me know when you’re reading Housekeeping. I want to buddy along (for real this time!). You have my email address.

      Like

    • Wow! Is she Kapampangan? Try SM Pampanga and Robinson’s Starmills. The former is a long stretch, the latter is empty. I don’t know though if there are Fully Booked branches there. It’s been years since I last went there (only for the Book Sale branches).

      Let’s see. Is January 23 good for Housekeeping? Okay, let me just shoot you an email, hahaha.

      Like

    • No, she just works in Pampanga. SM Pampanga and Robinsons Starmills are a bit far already. I’ve been to those two malls; my relatives in Pampanga (I’m quarter Kapampangan) used to take me there.

      I think the 23rd is okay. The book is quite short, so it should be a breeze. I’ll wait for your email.

      Like

    • I suppose your relatives are from Central/South Pampanga? Yes, I’ll inform you a few days before. Your invitation surprised me, really.

      Like

    • They live in San Fernando.(No idea if that’s south or central.)

      I’ll let you decide on our pacing and posting mechanics.

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

