The Noble Nobel Project
Comments 6

The Noble Nobel Project

The Noble Nobel Project LogoThe Nobel Prize in Literature is the highest award that a writer may aspire in his lifetime. Unlike the Pulitzers, the Bookers, and others, this is awarded annually to any writer from any country. It is not solely based on a single work. Yes, individual works may be cited, but still, the body of work, meaning all the works of the writer, is considered for this award.

In the words of Alfred Nobel,

the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction

is honored with the prize, along with a Nobel Prize Medal with the following inscription (translated into English):

And they who bettered life on earth by their newly found mastery.

I have always been drawn to the works of Nobel laureates, or any award-winner for this matter. Therefore, I decided to undergo a lifelong project, a noble one as the title denotes. I intend to read at least a single work from every winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature.

I think this is the most noble reading challenge ever. I have to admit that the works of Nobel laureates are not easy reads. One example is William Faulkner’s The Sound and the Fury. Others are books that I wouldn’t really recommend. One example is J. M. Coetzee’s Disgrace. Others have drawn mixed reactions from readers all over. One example is William Golding’s Lord of the Flies.

Regardless of such difficulties that this project poses, I officially commit myself to The Noble Nobel Project. This is a real challenge. This would be a noble journey.

For more information, please visit The Noble Nobel Project page.

The Noble Nobel Project Banner

6 Comments

  1. You know I told myself that I would do this…but not “officially,” as in joining a reading challenge. It is a lifelong thing, so I just decided to do it on my own. Did you know there’s a book of compiled works of select Nobel Laureates in literature? Some are short stories, essays, etc….

    Like

    • I already read that. I remember one of the stories was really lousy. I think it’s written by one of the early winners.

      Like

  2. This *is* a noble challenge.:) Your post reminds me to revisit some of my lifetime reading goals. The Nobel isn’t one of them though, as I know I’m not inclined to read all of them. I prefer to stick with Pulitzer, Booker, the Time 100 Novels list, BBC, and all versions of 1001 Books to Read Before You Die. Hence the lifetime thing.:)

    Good luck on your challenge!

    Like

    • I also read those books (and other award winners). However, I am not inclined to read the 1001 Books because I don’t think I can finish them, given that the list is revised every after two years (?). But yes, with all the lists that I am completing, the books might sum up to 1001. That is an exaggeration, but the number is also significant (if you consider half of 1001 significant). :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

