Reading
Comments 12

Books To Read: January 2012

Books to Read for January 2012

Welcome 2012! Welcome new books! Welcome everyone!

For my loyal visitors, which are at least three, you surely have noticed the new look of my blog. It’s out of my OC-ness. New year, new everything. And I’m introducing a new category here, the Reading Plans. A post under this is basically about the books that I intend to read for the month.

And why am I doing this? It’s a part of instilling reading discipline. It works for me. I guess. And before I lead this post astray, here are the January books.

I already mentioned four of the books in previous posts. Coincidentally, these four books are picked for this month based on “random” selection. I do not wish to read them in some order but really, I might just do that. Here’s the preferred order:

  • 2666 by Roberto Bolano – the first book for the year! I’ll be starting tonight, and I’ll be reading this with a fellow blogger who blogs at The Misanthropologist. This is our second book that we will be buddy reading via TFG at GoodReads. We will also be joined by another member of our book group, but I don’t think he blogs.
  • Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy – I was supposed to read this middle of 2011 for the Reading Group at Jessica Zafra’s blog, but I was swamped with work during that time. Plus, I couldn’t find a copy when the group started reading.
  • The Death of Artemio Cruz by Carlos Fuentes – It’s about a dying man, probably reviewing his life on his deathbed. I bought this because I thought Fuentes is a Nobel laureate. He is not, but this looks interesting.
  • Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson – The first novel of Robinson. This book seems a little out of the way with the first three, but what the hey. As I mentioned, the selection is pretty random. Please believe me.
  • Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett – My first play ever. And my first book for the Back to the Classics Challenge.

These, I think, are huge reads. Sure, the last book is a short play, but I don’t think it’s a super easy read. Fast, yes, but fast and easy are not the same. And need I say more about the others?

Hopefully, such reading plans will really make me cut down the number of hoarded books in my book shelf.

12 Comments

    • Now that you pointed it out… Haha. Oh you know me, I’m whiny when it comes to reading with my poor eyesight. I even have a thing about font colors and sizes. Haha.

      You still love me right? :D

      Like

    • Hahaha! Of course, I still love you! I don’t even know why I stuck up with that theme. Oh well. There’s always room for improvement. :)

      Like

    • We are starting today. Yes, the book’s breadth is intimidating, but after reading the first 50 pages, the writing is actually relaxed as opposed to our notions. Come and join the 2666 gang! :)

      Like

  1. I love the new layout! :)

    Seeing Cormac McCarthy’s book reminds me to get started with The Road. Which reminds me to set my reading goal for 2012. Which reminds how I have been a negligent book blogger these days. Pffft. Haha.

    Happy new year, Angus!

    Like

    • Thanks! My friend, a rabid fan of Cormac McCarthy, maintains that The Road is his masterpiece. However, average ratings at GoodReads somehow imply that Blood Meridian is the better book. I am about to find out soon.

      Happy New Year to you, Atty. Lynai! :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

