Day: September 30, 2011

Disgrace by J. M. Coetzee

Disgrace – J. M. Coetzee

Intro I got this at regular price back in college. I bought it even if I found the cover unappealing: a stray dog on a barren dirt road. I am not into judging books by their covers, but nice covers sometimes help. It’s hard not to be drawn to a book with a sleek cover design. Oh yes, this novel is a Booker winner. The author is a Nobel laureate. The author is among the top authors who have the most number of books in that 1001 list. With all these, expectations are raised notches higher. And yes, Disgrace is agreed to be his best work. How did his best work fit into my reading taste? The Rhapsody Disgrace lives up to its title: it is a disgrace to the author’s supposed reputation. That’s straight enough, I think, but really, I am in no mood to talk about this book because I remember nothing good about it. Some things first. This is the only novel of Coetzee that I have read. I think it will …