Day: September 9, 2011

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë

Intro I do not know how to begin this lest I invoke the ire of readers who love this book despite the harrowing love story of Heathcliff and Catherine, which I think is the very reason this book is so loved. Yes, this is a love story. However one would like to put it, it would always revert to being one. This is the only novel that Emily Bronte was able to publish. Which is a bummer because there could have been more beautiful novels from a talented female writer had she had a robust health. Her refusal to meet a doctor is a different matter, as well as the unsanitary surroundings of the place she lived in. How Bronte was able to write such a magnificent novel is still astonishing to me, given that she was never married. I always thought that experience is the best source of writing material, but there are times when sheer talent is all that there is to it. I guess I am fawning too much? The Rhapsody Heathcliff …