Ex Libris
Comments 12

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret. – Judy Blume

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret. - Judy Blume

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret. - Judy Blume

Who bought it: Aldrin of GR-TFG.

What is it: It’s about the adjustments that an 11-year old girl is going through.

When: July 23, 2011

Where: GoodReads – The Filipino Group 5th Meet Up, Congo Grille, El Pueblo.

Why: The copy that I have looks like a book pulled out from the chic lit section of a book store. If it is indeed under that genre, it must be good enough to have made it to Time’s Top 100 books.

How much: Free!

12 Comments

  1. Top 100? Really? That’s one I seriously question. I read it when I was about ten because it was a book that girls my age were supposed to dig and I was trying to fit in. It made me feel like even more of an outsider for not being girly enough. I’m still miffed with Judy Blume for making me think menstruation was something to be excited about.

    Like

    • That’s a question that we have to leave to the people who came up with the All Time 100 Books of Time Magazine. I haven’t read it though, but it seems that its scope as a book for young girls leans more on the classic side.

      Like

  2. haha well I think it’s the first book of its kind which addressed “real” problems of adolescent girls, which is why it made the Time Magazine list. I read this a long time ago and I remember enjoying it.

    Like

    • I also have an online friend who enjoyed this book. She’s in her middle 40’s (I suppose), and she reread it for the sake of nostalgia (I think). This could be the male version of David Mitchell’s Black Swan Green. Of course, I am fawning over Mitchell, hahaha.

      By the way, I’ve been meaning to ask you this, are you from The Filipino Group of GoodReads?

      Like

    • I actually read “Are You There God…” when I was an adolescent so, I was able to relate to it at the time. I wouldn’t know about Black Swan Green, because I’ve never read it. I’m actually curious about A Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet and will probably read it soon-ish.

      Yeah, I read about your love for Mitchell and Saramago..now I feel bad that I said I didn’t like his writing style :P No, I’m not part of that group…actually I didn’t even know a group like that existed lol.

      Like

    • LOL, don’t feel bad about it. To each his own, although I would really defend a writer or a book that I really like, hehe. But yes, there are rants and raves about A Thousand Autumns of JdZ. It’s also in my pile of to-read-I-don’t-know-when, but I will try my best to finish my remaining three Mitchell books next year.

      I was thinking you are from the Philippines and probably found your way here from Goodreads. It’s a book social networking site. You know the drill.

      Like

    • Don’t worry I haven’t given up on Saramago just yet :P Actually I have a goodreads account but I’m not a member of any group. Actually I just found your blog one day in the ‘tags’ category here in wordpress when you posted about The Red and Black (I think….). I’m not really one to join communities and discussion groups……lol (I’m a bit anti-social, if the name of my blog wasn’t a clue….LOL).

      Like

    • I WAS once a bit anti-social (and probably I still am), but the The Filipino Group at Goodreads has several book discussions that helped me in killing those boring hours and in further understanding the books being discussed. I went as far as joining the meet ups (with book giveaways) and volunteering for The First Filipino Reader Conference. You might want drop by the event incognito; I heard there will be a lot of books on sale. It’s organized in line with the celebration of the Manila International Book Fair, a week-long event on mid-September at SM MOA. Now I feel like I’m one of those movie stars plugging a film, hahaha.

      Like

    • It’s my first time attending since I have only been here in Manila for no more than two years. Yes, it should be fun. :D

      Like

    • Hmm, I don’t think this is a hard book to finish, so I’ll try to read it ASAP and see where both of you are coming from. :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

