Day: August 9, 2011

Remembering Babylon – David Malouf

Remembering Babylon - David Malouf

Remembering Babylon - David Malouf

Date Started: August 7, 2011. 12:30 AM.

I picked this one because of its number of pages. My copy has only 200. I am trying to catch up on my reading challenge, which is to finish 41 novels this year regardless of length. Although my stats say that I am six books ahead, I just want to get this over and done with as soon as possible.

Anyway, I find this book a little disturbing. I think it’s my first time to read something that is set in Australia. That is not what disturbed me. What did it is the protagonist who forgot his language. Yes, he has stayed with the aborigines for the last 16 years, but is that really possible? He was able to babble out some phrases out of fear, but when it comes to casual conversations, it is a struggle.

(Image courtesy of Tower.com)