Day: August 5, 2011

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

The Color Purple – Alice Walker

Intro I am the only reader in our family. I might sound a little condescending, but it really is true. I am the only person in the most recent generation of our family tree who would spend a lot on books. A few of my cousins show some interest in reading, but they do not read as voraciously as I do. So it really is rewarding when I get my cousins to read by simply letting them check out my books. One cousin read a book I left on the dresser. Never mind that it was a Danielle Steel novel. Another cousin periodically checks out my books. I don’t think she has ever borrowed one of my books, but I influenced her big time to get a copy of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go. And there’s my sister. The first book that she read from my pile was The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. It’s something that I really didn’t intend to buy, but hey, at least someone read it. And then she jumped to …