Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

A Portrait Of The Artist As A Young Man – James Joyce

A Portrait Of The Artist As A Young Man - James Joyce

A Portrait Of The Artist As A Young Man - James Joyce

Date Started: May 29, 2011. 11 PM.

The first chapter was promising despite the shifty narrative. I even confused myself for mistaking a character named Dante for a man. Dante is a woman. Isn’t Dante too masculine a name for a woman? And after all the good impressions, everything went plummeting down on the second chapter. I no longer get it. I wonder if it could redeem itself on the third chapter.

7 Responses to “A Portrait Of The Artist As A Young Man – James Joyce”

  1. litflick

    Mhm…I can see what you mean regarding the 1st chapter. I too found the name ‘Dante’ to be somewhat misleading. However, after a little think, I decided it is actually quite appropriate because not only does it sound like a corruption of ‘Auntie’ (in an Irish accent)…but it also reminds one of the great Italian poet. And that is rather fitting, given her stance in the argument (I think).

    Here’s a link to my reflections on the book: http://litflick.wordpress.com/2011/11/26/a-portrait-of-the-artist-as-a-young-man-by-james-joyce/

    Comments are very welcome! :)

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Dante Alighieri? Could be, but really, I cannot recall the details. I even had to reread what I posted about this just to remind me of this Dante character. :D

    • Angus Miranda

      I did finish, but I found the writing very clumsy. It didn’t stick to me. Probably it’s not my cup of tea.

      But I’ll be reading Ulysses next year. :D

    • litflick

      Good that you soldiered on! :D Ah well, literature can be very subjective..at least you tried though. :)

      Oh my!! That’s not for the faint-hearted is it? :p

      I should read it as well one of these days…

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

