Day: May 20, 2011

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway

Intro This is a tough one for me mostly because I am forcing myself to write and I haven’t slept for the last 30 hours. I doubt if I can think good enough. My fingers are getting more and more prone to dyslexic typing. Nausea has been threatening me since lunch time and I feel that my head is going to fall off my neck. And yet, I am still trying to write today’s post. Hey, I just feel like that old man fishing in the sea. Santiago. That’s the name, yes. He kept trying to pull that fish to shore despite the numerous odds running against him. And he somehow succeeded. And the author also succeeded in receiving the Nobel shortly after the publication of this work. Again, I am not sure if this is a novel or a novella. It definitely is not a short story, and since I squirm at the word novella, I’ll just call it a novel. And I digress again. So why the Nobel, the ultimate literary achievement for a writer, for …