Day: April 29, 2011

3 star - liked it

The Food of the Gods – H. G. Wells

Intro I really don’t know what came to me. Maybe it was the series of heavy books that I read in a row. Orwell? Golding? All those -topia books. Anything that had to do with the society. And Wells. It is indeed a good follow-up for such books like 1984 and Lord of the Flies. But this book is not one of his more popular ones. I think it is underrated. I think it is not as well-read as his other books. Well, what are his other books? Oh, The War of the Worlds. I haven’t read that one yet. And I digress. So yes, what do I remember about The Food of the Gods? The Rhapsody Tada! I don’t remember much. Are you not surprised? Seriously, I remember a feeling akin to displacement. But let’s go to the key events first. Some scientists achieved a breakthrough by creating a formula that would speed up the growth of a human being. I am not sure if it was a formula or if it was a food or if it was …