Day: April 15, 2011

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Animal Farm – George Orwell

Intro Just a week ago, I posted something written by the same author. I think 1984 and Animal Farm are Orwell’s most monumental works. So after reading them successively, I had an Orwellian daze. Each has its own merits, but which one do I prefer? I say Animal Farm. Not only is it economical and easy to read, it is also the first ever book that I finished in one sitting. But are these the only things that I liked about it? The Rhapsody Animal Farm is a social satire. A group of discontented farm animals overthrew their owner. The farmer-owner, disgraced from his own property, fled to escape the wrath of these animals. His laziness filled their cup of patience and thought to manage the farm themselves, thinking that they could do a better job than a human being. Everything was hopeful at first. There were the pigs, the horse, the cows, the donkey, and other animals that have now slipped away from my unreliable memory. The pigs, notoriously known for their superior intelligence despite their inability …