Day: February 11, 2011

Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

Interpreter of Maladies – Jhumpa Lahiri

Intro As far as I know, this is the first anthology of short stories from a single author that I ever read. My copy was given by a friend, who bought it for me after seeing me scanning its pages. This friend also treated me to a cup of coffee afterwards, and I think I should mention that this friend is fond of the name Jhumpa. I fondly call this book just Interpreter, which I read back in college at the temporary library during my long breaks, and I also remember making an unsuccessful attempt at conversation with a stranger who was reading his copy of this book on a jeepney. I remember a lot of things associated with this book, but how well do I remember the book itself? The Rhapsody Three stories that I remember the most in this collection are A Temporary Matter, Sexy, and of course, the carrier single (or story), Interpreter Of Maladies. The first one is about a couple on the climax of their separation, the second one is about this really …