Day: February 4, 2011

The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love by Oscar Hijuelos

The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love – Oscar Hijuelos

Intro I do not really know what I was thinking when I picked up this book. Antonio Banderas? No, I am not a fan. The book cover? Not really. The Pulitzer? Could be. This is the first Pulitzer winner that fell short of my expectations. I found it a huge drag. Read on if you are interested to find out why and if you wish to prove me wrong. The Rhapsody It’s such a struggle for me to write about something that I am either not fond of or not totally against. As far as I can recall, the novel is about two brothers who rise amidst various adversities to become musicians. I do not remember if they ever get a record deal, but I am sure that the novel is mostly about memoirs. I think one of the brothers recently died while the other one is contemplating suicide inside a hotel room. Do not trust me with these details because I cannot clearly remember. I do not even remember their names. I could always use search engines to help me …