The Classics Club Monthly Meme: October 2012

The Classics ClubThe Classics Club selected a short and sweet topic for the month that celebrates The Sweetest Day:

Why are you reading the classics?

First, why not? I mean, I never really bothered to ask myself why am I doing this. It’s like asking yourself why you’re breathing, and come to think of it, it’s a fundamental question.

Second, I read the classics because they are the foundation of whatever it is that we are reading now. I want to find out who the culprits are. I want to see how things were done before. I want to know where everything started.

Third, I read the classics because I want to make sure that the time I spend in reading will not be wasted. I have this notion that the classics will solve that problem. They wouldn’t be classics for nothing, right? They have survived multiple generations, therefore passing the test of time.

Fourth, I read the classics because they challenge me. We have to admit that some classics are tough to go through. Although there are some classics that are surprisingly easy to read, there are also those that make you think hard. Surely, there must be something out of all the toil.

Fifth, I read the classics because I like the look and smell of old books. I don’t know if that’s vanilla that I’m smelling, but I sniff it anyway. And oh, have you tried listening to the tiny crack that the spine of an old book makes?

Finally, I read the classics because I just love them. That’s the most sincere and honest answer that I could give.