Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

Blogging, fangirling, and moviegoing

The Sunday Salon

It’s already Monday and I don’t know if any time zone is still stuck on Sunday but please, let me tag this as a Sunday Salon post. I meant to write it on a Sunday; it’s just that … I was asleep most of the day.

If you’ve noticed, I haven’t posted anything for the whole week. This alarms me because I haven’t been that inactive until now. It depresses me at the same time because I feel deprived of the pleasure that I experience when I post something. Also, I want to get rid of my review backlog before the year ends. Sorry, I can’t not think about it so this inactivity disturbs me.

When I think of what caused this week-long hiatus, I came up with three. First, my work is taking over me. I am overwhelmed with tons of things to write that I no longer have the energy to write for pleasure at the end of the day. Second, there’s my new toy (wink, wink). You know how it is when you have a new thing to keep your fingers busy. Good thing that the novelty is now starting to fade little by little.

And third, it bothers me that some literary snobs see book bloggers as potential dangers to literature. As much as I’d like to ignore the comment about every opinion not as good as anyone else’s, it still gets to me. Yes, there is some weight to it. There is the examined and the crude opinion. I do not know where mine falls. I am aware that I sometimes hack away on my keyboard, typing whatever thought that first comes to mind. In this manner, I received a couple of months ago the ire of another blogger plus his unsolicited advice on how to frame a post. He’s of the opinion that I have unexamined thoughts. Ugh.

But does blogging always have to be a studied criticism on the books that we read? Is fangirling too lethal to literature? Can’t blogging be just a journal of one’s reading life?

And now I remember the disclaimer on my About page: This blog does not seek to be a blog about professional book criticism. Rereading that makes me wonder if I am just merely washing the blogger’s responsibilities off my hands, but on the other hand, it makes sense. Get a broadsheet for the “proper” book review, or better yet, you can always get out of here if you feel that I’m too crude for your lofty taste.

And as far as I’m concerned, I am keeping literature alive by the mere act of reading. And I’ll continue to blog about what I read, no matter what. That is, as long as my body is in the right capacity to do so.

* * * * *

Last Saturday, my bookish friends and I attended the first joint book discussion among two book clubs. We talked about (drum roll) Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. The ongoing hype over the film adaptation (it used to be an impossible undertaking) made us pick the book for the bookish gathering.

However, I have to say that the faces I saw were mostly from our book club. Not that I am tired of them, but I was hoping to see a lot of new people. Anyway, there’s always a next time, no?

It was a casual discussion with only a handful of guide questions. From these questions are topics that sprang forth and meandered into insightful opinions, both crude and examined. We talked about the “gimmick” of the novel, the implication of its structure, its themes, and just about any tidbit that we find worthy of fangirling.

So yes, it was fun fun fun.

Cloud Atlas movie banners turned into bookmarks!

Cloud Atlas movie banners turned into bookmarks!

* * * * *

To cap the weekend, we watched the film adaptation of The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I have not read it yet, but I don’t mind. After seeing it, I just want to make the world stop spinning so that I could linger and live vicariously. I want to read it.

And I want a typewriter.

26 Responses to “Blogging, fangirling, and moviegoing”

  1. Susan

    Yeah I dont see where blogging is hurting literature either! Doesn’t seem to make sense. Shouldn’t we be happy that people are conversing about books in their spare time? What’s so wrong about that.

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Oh well, you know how literary snobs are. And they call me one, which I find incredulous!

    • Angus Miranda

      Hahaha, they’ve been teasing me about it. Nope, it’s not a e-reader (I still want my paper books). :D

  2. John Levi Masuli

    Reading is first and foremost for enjoyment’s sake. On the other hand, literary theory is a job. It is sad that many people who mop their theories around forget that reading is enjoyment. The two must be complementary, not contradictory. Kudos to you, man, I enjoy reading your blog than most of the elitist shitheads I encounter here in cyberspace.

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Thanks! Any new music that I can listen to on my spare time? :D

    • Angus Miranda

      It’s the Filipino community at Shelfari, Flips Flipping Pages (or the Flippers). Go and join if you have a Shelfari account!

    • themisanthropologist

      I do, but I forgot my account name and password :P

    • themisanthropologist

      Ok lang, one book group is enough :P

    • Angus Miranda

      Sabagay, we’ve wrought enough havoc in your peaceful life!

  3. Monique

    Why do we want a typewriter? :D

    Oh, and ditto to the new faces, or lack thereof, in last Saturday’s discussion. I kept asking Honey about it. Sayang.

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      It’s the romantic inside us, I guess?

      It really didn’t feel like a joint discussion, haha, probably because we are already familiar with Honey and RE. :D

  4. jzhunagev

    Look likes you had an awesome weekend despite being swamped with work and affronted by that low life snob. ;)

    I’m sorry to have missed the joint Cloud Atlas books discussion. Well, I haven’t read the book yet (well, is it enough for an excuse?).
    And I too liked The Perks of Being a Wallflower, too! I just hope that you having a fancy with Logan Lerman doesn’t have anything to do with your interest in reading the book (or the Percy Jackson series for that matter) and owning a typewriter.

    Seems to me there’s more than enough fangirling in this post of yours. Haha! :D

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      I always wanted to have a typewriter but the convenience of word processors dissuades me from the actual purchase. Maybe I should finally buy one before the year ends?

      Regarding the Percy Jackson books, they were just given to me (actually, they were shoved to me) so I admit I do not have a keen interest on reading the books other than my fancy for Logan Lerman. :D

      And your Cloud Atlas is long overdue! I remember we were supposed to buddy-read it!

  5. bennardfajardo

    Count me in with the typewriter bandwagon.:)

    Anyhoo, I also don’t like it when professional critics of any sort degrade bloggers. I mean, we all know that they all have the degrees or the experience to critique any given work in an academic fashion but that doesn’t mean that the ordinary person can’t publicly express himself/herself in written form. We certainly can contribute to the conversation even if we did not study literary theory. We read for enjoyment’s sake and then we voice out our love for books through blogs. There’s nothing wrong with that.

    And how awesome is The Perks of Being a Wallflower?:D

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Right on! I couldn’t agree more. It’s like they are the only ones who have the final say on reading matters when, in fact, it’s the readers who own that power.

      The Perks is … aww, I want to watch it again!

  6. Lynai

    This post reminds me to take a look again at my About Me too. ;)

    And yay to Perks! I have yet to watch the movie but it’s no longer shown in cinemas here. I’ll try to get a DVD copy though. ;)

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      What? But it was just recently shown right? Hmm.

  7. kheenand

    Typewriters – no I cannot go back there. I have too many horrible memories of days spent banging hard on the keys because they were so old they wouldn’t work unless you gave them a thump. And then they had this annoying habit of getting all mangled up with each other if you typed too quickly.

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Hmm, I haven’t managed to mangle the keys (?) because I wasn’t a touch-typer yet during the glorious days of the typewriter. I haven’t really built a serious relationship with the typewriter because word processors started to take over when I was in high school.

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

