Three is the magic number (and three are still in their plastic wraps).

Three Nobel Laureates and Three Musketeers

Here are the books that I got after three days of book shopping:

August 13, National Book Store – Greenbelt 1 and Powerbooks – Greenbelt 3

  • The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas (Php 181.00, 70% off)
  • Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak (Php 548.00, 20% off)

I took advantage of the annual sale of NBS group and chain of book stores. And it’s funny that I got two Pevear-translated books. I only intended to buy Doctor Zhivago. I’ve meant to buy the Pevear-Volokhonsky translation for some time now, and while I was on my way to the cashier, I stumbled across the movie tie-in edition of The Three Musketeers. Nice edition, and I didn’t know that Pevear also did French translations.

August 14, Book Sale – Makati Square

  • Omeros by Derek Walcott (Php 145.00)

I almost fainted when I saw this. I cannot forget the regret I nursed when I let go of my first sighting of this. I think I’m destined to own this, no?

August 15, Fully Booked – The Fort

  • The Tin Drum by Gunter Grass (Php 670.00)

This is my second edition of the book. I was supposed to start reading this last Tuesday, but when I did a little research prior to it, I found out that the translator of my old edition (Manheim) has a tendency to stray away from the literary style of the original language (such as clipped sentences and page-long sentences). I decided not to read it yet until I get the new translation (Mitchell’s) that’s more loyal to the text. And here we go! I’m very excited to start reading this.

So what should I do with the old edition?