The Filipino ReaderCon 2012 Filipino Friday 3: Reading Habits and Book Formats

Filipino Friday

Filipino Friday

Filipino Friday is a meme in celebration of the upcoming Filipino Reader Conference. Yes, I just copy-pasted that from last week’s post. And this week’s topic is:

August 3 – Reading Habits and Book Formats. Where and how do you read? Can you read anywhere and everywhere, or do you need a certain place/mood/state of mind to get reading? Do you read more in the morning or at night or any minute that you can? Where and how do you usually read? Are you exclusively for print, or do you go for ebooks more than print? Have you ever tried audiobooks?

Where and how do you read? – Most of the time, I read in my room. I usually read lying on my back or on my tummy if my eyelids are too heavy for sleep but my will still wants to read (like when I’m trying to finish a specific number of chapters). Nearby is my reading journal. I usually write my thoughts on it in almost unreadable cursive the next day mostly because I’m too sleepy or too overwhelmed to write after finishing my reading. A quirky thing: I use red and black pens. I alternate between the two colors at the end of each paragraph.

Can you read anywhere and everywhere, or do you need a certain place/mood/state of mind to get reading? – It depends. If there’s no blaring music or if the people’s chatterings aren’t too obtrusive, then I could. I could read in jeepneys, buses, trains, and other public transport vehicles as long as the noise is not too loud for me to understand the lyrics or the conversation or the words.

Recently, I resorted to using ear plugs if I have this urge to read at a noisy public place. They don’t completely block the sound, but at least everything that reaches your ears is muffled, therefore allowing you to listen to the voice of the narrative instead.

Do you read more in the morning or at night or any minute that you can? – I read mostly at night during work days. During weekends, I read any time as long as I have finished all the tasks required of me. I don’t like reading bit by bit. I have this habit of pausing at the end of each chapter or at a section breaker if the novel’s structure is continuous. I make sure that everything that I need to do is done so that my book has my undivided attention.

Are you exclusively for print, or do you go for ebooks more than print? – I’m an exclusive print person. I have contemplated buying an e-reader a couple of times, but it just doesn’t feel right. Of course, I have tried my friends’ Kindles, Nooks, and whatnot, and although the convenience that they provide is tempting,  I must say that the real paper book has a certain element that allows me to get lost in the printed words.

My preferred format is the trade paperback, although I can settle for the mass market paperback if the book is uncommon. I rarely buy hardback books because they are heavy and they eat a lot of shelf space. But if the length of the HB is the same as that of an average TPB, I would consider.

Have you ever tried audiobooks? – Yes, a number of times. But I only do this if I have already read the book in print and if I love it. Examples are Gilead, Lolita, The Remains of the Day, and The Sense of an Ending. I also have audio copies of The Road, The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter, Never Let Me Go, and 84, Charing Cross Road.

I also think that audiobooks work best for first-person narratives. It adds a certain intimacy to the narration. I don’t know; that’s just me being weird.

The 2nd Filipino ReaderCon 2012

The 2nd Filipino ReaderCon 2012

12 thoughts on “The Filipino ReaderCon 2012 Filipino Friday 3: Reading Habits and Book Formats

  1. Woot woot! Printed copies are the best, no? Whenever I hold someone else’s ebook reader during a book discussion, they would say aloud, “Ay, it’s the end of the world as we know it.” I find their reaction just hilarious.

    I’ve read a few audiobooks though, probably 3 titles. I enjoyed Christopher Hitchens’s god Is Not Great, which he narrated himself. I also listened to two audiobooks by Chelsea Handler, which are really very, very funny.

    Like

    • Nothing beats the smell of paper books! My office mate told me that there’s this company that manufactures a “perfume” that you spray on your e-reader that imitates the smell of paper. Isn’t that strange?

      I’ve been listening again and again to The Sense of an Ending. I got so hooked into its audio version, mostly because I like the narrator and the crisp sound quality. (Most of the audiobooks “shared” to me have this muffled, tinny sound).

      Like

  2. Earplugs! I used to have them during exam review days. Unlike when I was younger, now, I prefer to read in silence, though sometimes I use the TV as background noise. :D Which reminds me, I have to put up my own post too! :)

    Like

    • Thanks, Janus! To answer your question, it started when I bought a Moleskine daily planner for 2012. I love writing using a red pen, but the pages might seem to be screaming at me if I exclusively use red. So there, I opted to alternate between red and black. :D

      Like

  3. I’m not sure I’d go as far as a reading journal but been meaning to jot down notes because I’ve very forgetful! The thought of interruption of doing that just doesn’t fly with me so I’ve got to find a system that works for me. –Nice getting to know you.

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

