The First and the Recent

My stripey collection is growing. I still need two more to complete my Kazuo Ishiguro striped set. And I wish Never Let Me Go will also have its own striped version.

Anyway, here are the new additions in my book shelf and in my new place. Hurray!

Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro – the most recent Ishiguro book. It was given by our very generous friend Aldrin last July 28 during our book discussion. It used to have this “travelling book” sticker on the front cover but I took it off. Good thing the adhesive isn’t stubborn.

A Pale View of Hills by Kazuo Ishiguro – the first Ishiguro book. I bought it yesterday, July 30, at Powerbooks – Greenbelt 3 for Php 515.00. It’s so fresh! I haven’t taken it out of its plastic wrap yet. Well, I slipped it out a little so that I could take off the price sticker.

Noli Me Tangere by Jose Rizal – I also bought it yesterday at National Book Store – Greenbelt 1 for Php 196.00. It’s the Filipinos’ great novel, a required reading in high school, and our book of the month. Since I’m not a fan of rereading, I bought an English translation (the required high school reading is the Filipino version), the one translated by Ma. Soledad Lacson-Locsin. I chose hers because I read somewhere that she did the most loyal job.

I first intended to buy the Penguin edition just because it’s Penguin, but I think it’s better if a Filipino does the translation to another language, no? Or does it not matter whatever the nationality of the translation is?

8 thoughts on “The First and the Recent

  1. The nationality of the translator doesn’t matter, but the translator needs to understand the culture of the writer and needs to be capable of reflecting the nuances of the text in another language.

  2. I’m not sure if I’m interested in the Noli F2F (no offense to our discussion leader!). I feel that I’ve had enough of it in high school. Is that valid?

    • I’m actually thinking of skipping it. Oh, but the venue is only in Intramuros – practically my own backyard! Maybe I’ll just pop in to say a quick hello and not participate? Oh well. Haha.

    • Maybe you could attend as an observer? Hahaha! Ako naman I intend to join all F2Fs kasi honestly, yun na lang ang social life ko dito. Most of my friends are in Pampanga, kaya hayun. :D

Thoughts? Feelings?

