Fellowship Bookmarks!

TFG’s Book of the Month for June – The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien

This post, again, is way too late, but as I mentioned before, I don’t intend to make these posts on time. For what reason, you might ask. First, there’s the question of time. I am either too lazy or too swamped up with work. As one commenter pointed out, I’d do anything not to do anything. Second, there’s the question of resources. I don’t bring my camera during such events, so I rely on other members to upload the photos. And then I steal them. I don’t exactly steal them because I always acknowledge the owner of the photos, right?

Anyway, June’s discussion was a little rowdy for there were a lot of participants. Also, there were a lot of newbies who attended, which is a feat for our book club. Perhaps this is because of the book’s popularity among various types of readers, and maybe because I think we are doing pretty well in making those lurkers come out in the open, no?

The discussion of the book is light and fun. This was the intention of the discussion leader, Maria, or whom I fondly call Chami (it’s a really a local food: Chinese noodles with eggs and stuff). She mentioned that she didn’t want to induce headache among the members, so she decided to keep the questions in line with what she had in mind.

Heck, I even had the nerve to wear a wig while the discussion was ongoing. Let me just clarify that I did not intend to bring a wig; it was lent to me by the other members. They were nice enough to make me feel like Lady Galadriel.

An Element of Freedom

An Element of Freedom

This does not mean though that the discussion wasn’t stimulating. There were a lot of us who aren’t fans of Tolkien’s work, so a lot of information about his works were divulged to us by the Tolkien fans, or the Tolkien scholars as we put it.

The questions were stuffed inside chocolate wafer sticks. The members had to break the food à la fortune cookies. Sure, one could bite through it but one should take extra caution lest he swallows and ingests the paper with the question. When my turn came, I picked up a wonderful question about Tom Bombadil. I say it’s wonderful because I love this character. He seems funny in my imagination, the sort of person who has no room for worries.

So what was my question about him? Who is he? Will I trust him? The first one, I was not able to answer (as always). I don’t know if he’s a man or an elf. I don’t remember what the Tolkien scholars said about this. The second question, well, I suppose I won’t trust him at first sight. I think that’s a standard. One should be wary of strangers. More so, if Tom Bombadil were real, he would have seemed a little crazy to me, what with all that skipping and hopping in the woods. Also, his immunity to the ring is a little baffling, but this was given clarity by our Tolkien scholars. They said that he has a sphere of his own, something to that effect, which disables the ring from having any power over him.

We also had a little activity where we quoted songs and explained why we chose it. We did this because hobbits are fond of breaking into songs. I picked one by Alicia Keys, Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart. It’s already years since I first heard of it, and I still love it up to this day. I still have it on my play list. But no, I no longer want to bother you about the reason behind my choosing it.

After the discussion, we were supposed to try some archery available at the venue, but there were too many archery enthusiasts outside our club that we weren’t able to reserve even a single lane. I think that’s just as well because the café has poor service. The food that I ordered was served so late that I was already eating half of my seatmate’s pasta. When the food already did arrive, I was a bit full and I didn’t have the appetite to finish it.

I also had a little tiff with the cashier because she was on the verge of being ballistic when payment time came. She even put an obnoxious air when she thought that we will pay for our food individually. I don’t think I will ever come back to this place, but I am having second thoughts because I still want to give archery a try.

Anyway, the staff and service of the café did not dull our book discussion. It was indeed light and fun.

The Attendees of the Sixth TFG Face to Face Book Discussion

The Attendees of the Sixth TFG Face to Face Book Discussion

The Fellowship of the Ring Book Discussion Details

  • Date: June 23, 2012
  • Place: Gandiva Cafe, Julia Vargas St., Pasig City
  • Time: 3 PM to 6 PM
  • Attendees: Me, AaronAenna and her friend, AlexaAlona (late), Ayban, Beejay, Bennard (newbie), Billy (newbie), Camille, Cary, Celina, Charles Tan (newbie), Ella (zombie), Ingrid, Janus (newbie), JL,  Jzhun, KD, Kristel, Kwesi (late as always), LS, Maria (discussion leader), Marie, Milo, Atty. Monique, Nico (newbie), Patrick, Po, Doc Ranee, Rollie, Tina, Tricia, Miss Veronica, Wilfred
  • Food I Ate: Some vegan cheese burgers, fries, leftover pasta of Atty. Monique, leftover pizza of KD.

(Photos courtesy of DC and Maria.)