The Sunday Salon – July 23, 2012

What I Did Not Read

The Sunday Salon

I’ve been on a sort of reading hiatus but it’s not something that I did consciously. I haven’t really read for a whole week, and now that I think of it, it’s not the lack of motivation or anything like that, but it’s just plain flooding of random stuff. Let me enumerate:

  • Monday – I spent all night checking out the new place that I will be moving to. Yes, I am moving this coming Sunday, and I am a little worried because I don’t know what to do with my books and book shelf.
  • Tuesday – I spent all night writing questions for our book discussion. Just in case you haven’t been visiting here, I am this month’s appointed discussion leader of our club’s book of the month.
  • Wednesday – I spent all night editing videos. Not really editing, but chopping some snippets here and there. What are these for? Well, they are video clips from the adaptation of The Remains of the Day. I thought it would be nice to add clips before the questions are asked. It’s a lot of work, yes, but I hope it pays off.
  • Thursday – I spent all night finishing the presentation with all the questions and the video clips. Sort of like a test drive.
  • Friday – I spent all night soaked in rain and flood water. Gaaah, I hate this night. I met up with some of my book club friends so that we could check out the venue for the book discussion. It was an inopportune time, what with the overcrowded train stations and the lashing rain. I was not even able to eat well. My appetite was drained down the gutter.
  • Saturday – I spent all day and all night at the mall and over my friend’s house because our kitchen was flooded! God, why did this have to happen just one more week before we move out? Don’t worry, my books are safe and dry, and they were the first items that I secured before I left. And yes, the flood was only ankle-deep, so nothing much to worry about. Except for wet shoes and wet laundry.
  • Sunday – I spent all day and all night cleaning the house. I had to get rid of that flood water smell. I had to disinfect. I had to do a little laundry. I had to read.

Mother’s Milk by Edward St. Aubyn

Date Started: July 22, 2012. 2:00 AM.
Current Page: 66 of 279
Book #39 of 2012

I actually started reading this last July 15, but I decided to restart. Besides, I was only able to finish the first chapter during the first reading last week, so it wouldn’t hurt to read that again.

It’s an interesting first chapter: a five-year-old is recollecting his earliest memory, which is the moment of his birth. I know someone who also remembers being born, or rather the first moments after being born. It’s both amazing and strange, but the human mind is like that, so I shouldn’t be so surprised, no?

And yet, I can’t help it.

And this time, despite the late/early hours when I cracked this novel open, I was able to reach the fifth chapter. I may not have continued reading it last week, but I am confident that the hiatus is now over.

7 thoughts on “What I Did Not Read”

  1. It is hard to read all the time, taking breaks is good.
    ☆ ♥●••´¯`•.☆.•´¯`•.☆.•´¯`•.☆ ♥●
    …./\„,„/\
    …( =';’=) ~Have a Delightful Day
    …/*♥♥*\
    .(.\.. . . /.)

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

