The Filipino ReaderCon 2012 Filipino Friday 1: Introductions

Filipino Friday
Filipino Friday

Filipino Friday is back! This is a meme that surfaces every time the Filipino Reader Conference activities are commenced. Of course, I’m joining. I remember last year that I used to post my contributions after the weekend just because I have scheduled posts every Friday. But now, since I post anything any day, I can make sure the Filipino Friday entries are on time.

Enough of that. So here’s this week’s topic:

July 20 – Introductions. As with every start of a weekly meme, we need to know a bit about you! Talk about your top 3-5 (or more!) favorite books of all time, the genres you read and would never read, the books that surprised you this year. You can also talk about how you became a reader and why you love it so much! And finally, if you were in the ReaderCon last year, talk about your experience too! If you weren’t there, but you’re planning to go this year, then what do you expect for the upcoming ReaderCon?

A bit about me: I’m Angus. I was born in San Fernando, Pampanga, grew up in Angeles City, working somewhere in Makati City. I majored in IT. I’m in my late 20s (gasp!). What else? I’m a Taurean.

Three of my favorite books: Hmm, the top spot goes to Hunger by Knut Hamsun. It’s been on the top of my list since March last year. Second is, hmm, wait, it’s a little tough ranking them. Oh, of course it’s Death at Intervals by Jose Saramago. There, I included the links to my write-ups so you could check out what I think of the two.

Third is … The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. Sounds like I’m promoting the book discussion that I will be leading in a few more days, but after reading and listening and rereading it, I realized that there is so much more to it than the first pass.

Genres I read: Mostly general fiction novels and some classics and some international (read: not from US or UK) works. I lean towards award-winning and critically acclaimed works, or what some would call serious or literary or high-brow stuff. But really, I’d rather not call them that.

My favorite literary award is the National Book Critics Circle Award and my favorite list is Time Magazine’s All-Time 100 Novels. And yes, I am on a mission to read at least one work from every Nobel laureate.

Genres I would never read: I guess none. I think I will explore at least one work from every genre especially if circumstances warrant it (like if a particular book is selected as the book of the month of our book club). I’ve already read a YA novel, soon I will be reading a suspense/horror/thriller novel.

Book that surprised me this year: Oh, it’s that book by Joan Didion, Play It As It Lays. I didn’t expect it to be so overwhelming. I was a walking zombie for a couple of days after finishing it. And I didn’t want to do anything. I just wanted to lie down and hold a bottle of sleeping pills (for added drama). And I have yet to write something about it. I have to be emotionally stable to return to it.

How I became a reader: Oh, I’ve been featured by my Best Book Buddy for the first installment of The Spark Project. You can read all about my reading history by visiting the link.

ReaderCon 2011: I was late, super late. By the time I arrived at the venue, everyone was already busy book hunting. Oh well. I was not able to file a vacation leave then, what could I do?

ReaderCon 2012: I think I will make it this time because the event is scheduled on a weekend. I am expecting to meet a lot of people and hopefully I could pick up new things about the various aspects of reading.

The 2nd Filipino ReaderCon 2012
The 2nd Filipino ReaderCon 2012