Books To Read: July 2012

The month just started and it’s not promising me much in terms of comfort so what I did to lessen the stress is to make whimsical choices for this month’s books. I did not considered the lists that I’m following and I based my choices merely on instinct.

  • Home by Marilynne Robinson – After reading and recently listening to the earlier novel Gilead, I feel that it’s time to read Home. The two are connected to each other since the first is about the Ames family while the latter is about the Boughtons. And this my last unread Robinson fiction, so it’s also a good idea to complete them now.
  • Mother’s Milk by Edward St. Aubyn – The cover got me! I like the purple tone and the scared face of the boy. And it was recommended by local writer Jessica Zafra on her blog, praising it for its vicious brilliance. Now that is an interesting take on any book.
  • Mysteries by Knut Hamsun – I miss Hamsun already. And yes, this is my pick for my Nobel project.
  • The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro – I’m rereading this, and I am rereading a novel, in full, for the first time! Why? Because I am the discussion leader for our book club’s July pick. And I don’t mind since I immensely enjoyed my first run on this last year. But yes, I am going to take this slower than usual.
  • The Swimming Pool Library by Alan Hollinghurst – I think my picks for this month are a little on the quiet side, so this book might balance the moods of the others for its wildness. Yes, I am just assuming that.
  • The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides – This has been delayed so long. I’ve read Middlesex way back in college, and I remember enjoying that massive novel. This is slim in comparison, and I have great expectations for it.

I know this is one book more than the regular five, but since I am rereading one book and since they are of average length, I think this can be managed. Oops, I think I should scratch that. I am not yet done with my June books. I still have two pending, but I am confident that those can be chucked off in a couple of days.

14 thoughts on “Books To Read: July 2012

  1. I just ordered the British edition of The Virgin Suicides from Book Depository! Yay! :) I’m also doing a full reread of Remains. I feel like I should arm myself properly against those who will bash Ishiguro. Haha!

    I

    • Yes! And I already smell the bashers, hahaha!

      I really don’t like my edition of The Virgin Suicides, but this will do for now. It’s been so looong!

    • I think I will have to restrain myself, Buddy. The discussion will not be focused solely on Remains; there will be comparisons with his other works, I am 100% sure of it.

    • Hahaha, oo nga eh. This is promising to be an umaatikabong discussion! (and of course I can’t really react. Teach me how to do question leading, hehehe).

    • Yes, yes, the art is in propounding leading questions. Haha. Kaso, baka pag nang-diss naman ako nun, baka sabihan ako na bayaran ko ang kinain ko. Mwahahaha!

      Yo Maria! OK lang ba sa yo ang trio-reading? :D

  2. I hope you like The Virgin Suicides! :) Hm, maybe I should pick out a Marilynne Robinson book sometime soon. I saw Gilead yesterday at Booksale but decided not to buy it yet. Was that a bad decision? Haha!

    • It is a bad one! Hahaha. If you like theological writing, you would enjoy Gilead. I don’t like theology but I still love the book. Beautiful and quiet writing.

      And I am sure I will enjoy The Virgin Suicides. I’ve seen the film and I love it! :D

Thoughts? Feelings?

