Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

An Unexpected Adventure – The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Before I started this, I didn’t know how to read it. That sounds a little foolish for reading to us fortunate people is like breathing. What I mean is how should I read it, what approach is needed for me to enjoy it. These are necessary questions for me because I intend to read The Lord of the Rings books. I thought I’d appreciate the books more by reading the prequel first.

Some of my bookish friends say that it’s like a children’s book. And with that, I read it with childlike curiosity. I’m not used to this genre, but this does not mean that I am not familiar with it. Growing up playing console games allowed me to appreciate and even love this book.

So what’s it about? Just in case you are one of my kind who never really bother with facts, the book is the story of a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins. What is a hobbit? Well, hobbits are a race of creatures who inhabit the earth along with men, dwarves, and elves. I suppose they are more related to dwarves by virtue of height, but what distinguishes them from other races are their furry feet.

I think the hobbits are the author’s own. Anyway, hobbits are timid, quiet, peace-loving creatures. They may not seem to be your typical heroes (read: The Avengers) but I think they are just as courageous and noble as any adventure hero could be.

Bilbo almost stopped breathing, and went stiff himself. He was desperate. He must get away, out of this horrible darkness, while he had any strength left. he must fight. He must stab the foul thing, put its eyes out, kill it. It meant to kill him. No, not a fair fight. He was invisible now. Gollum had no sword. Gollum had not actually threatened to kill him, or tried to yet. And he was miserable, alone, lost. A sudden understanding, a pity mixed with horror, welled up in Bilbo’s heart: a glimpse of endless unmarked days without light or hope of betterment, hard stone, cold fish, sneaking and whispering. All these thoughts passed in a flash of a second. He trembled. And then quite suddenly in a another flash, as if lifted by a new strength and resolve, he leaped.

It is not unusual for books like this to have enemies to be slain and treasures to be found. For this prequel and for the rest of The Lord of the Rings books, it is The Ring, a powerful object created by a great evil to rule the world. Something like that. Bilbo Baggins, being our hero, finds it, and it is actually this first encounter with The Ring that makes this book an important reading to fully grasp the nitty-gritty details of Tolkien’s epic.

This is not to say that the prequel is merely an account of The Ring’s history. In fact, we barely know what it’s for. We just know that Bilbo becomes invisible every time he slips it on his finger. The power of invisibility allows him to save himself and his friends whenever troubles come across their way.

His friends, a dozen dwarves, come to his house one by one at the start of the book. This is at the recommendation of a wizard, saying that taking the hobbit to their westward journey will do them good. The reluctant hobbit, being disinclined to adventures as hobbits usually are, goes with this crew of fourteen.

4 star - really liked itAnd what is the intention of this journey? To reclaim the treasures hidden within a mountain that is guarded by a dragon. But before they come face to face with the dragon, Bilbo and the dwarves will encounter trolls, goblins, orcs, wolves, giant spiders, and one strange slimy creature. So yes, there is nothing really much here except fantastic adventure.

And is there something wrong with that? No. In fact,  I suggest that if you have a kid no older than thirteen but old enough to read and appreciate a fine tale, get the kid to read the book. I think this book is a great way to introduce anyone to the world of reading. The adventures of Bilbo might seem like stuff that adults will read and enjoy to pass their free time, but to children, this book might be a world filled with wonders: action-packed traveling, suspenseful battles, marvelous creatures, legendary settings.

And oh, I think I haven’t yet mentioned that this made me look forward to the rest of The Lord of the Rings books.

6 Responses to “An Unexpected Adventure – The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien”

  1. danuscript

    I’m not fond of calling the Hobbit a “prequel.” I know people have thrown that term around, especially now as the Hobbit film is coming out after the Lord of the Rings films, but the Hobbit was a book long before the Lord of the Rings and it stands on its own. It doesn’t lead into LOTR; Tolkien didn’t even know what the ring was when he originally wrote the Hobbit.

    The Lord of the Rings has a different style to it that makes it less of a children’s book. Tolkien’s prose becomes more complicated and wordy, and he occasionally makes extended references to the deeper mythology of Middle-earth, which slows down the story in some scenes. Those myths are described in greater detail in the Silmarillion, which is more challenging and only for those who want extensive knowledge about Middle-earth.

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      I use the term “prequel” loosely for I am aware that it can stand alone and that it was written before the LOTR books. And thanks for the additional info! :)

  2. danuscript

    No problem! I hope I wasn’t obnoxious about the “prequel” thing. I just see it in basically every article about the new movie, so I’m concerned some people might think the Hobbit came out after LOTR.

    I look forward to reading your thoughts on LOTR. :)

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Nope, you weren’t. And you know what? I didn’t even know that there will be an adaptation of The Hobbit until I was midway through it.

      And I am done with FOTR; my book club will be discussing it this Saturday! :D I decided to read the three LOTR volumes once a month, so I’ll resume the journey on July.

  3. swright

    I read The Hobbit a long time ago as a kid and liked it very much. I would like to re-read it before the film comes out in mid-Dec. and see if as an adult I like it just as much or less than when a kid. I suspect perhaps the latter — as you seem to be saying at the end

    Reply

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

