Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

I went book shopping twice

Back to School Books

Back to School Books

It’s June, and it’s that time of the year when some students go book shopping and hunting required by some of their demanding courses. I say some because I was one of those students who survived college thanks to the university library and the photocopy machine. And why am I saying this when I’m already done with college and when the books that I recently got are not even purely academic?

Well … I just felt like saying so.

June 1, 2012

  • The Black Book by Orhan Pamuk
  • The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis by Jose Saramago

I ordered these two works of two Nobel laureates from Bookay-Ukay, Php 350.00 each, and had them delivered to our office. A little expensive for second-hand books, but they are just as good as new. And when our receptionist informed me that I had a package waiting for me, I was instantly one happy bibliophile. I was too excited to feel and smell the books that I opened them right at my work station. One of my office mates passed by and asked me if I was requested to review those books, like I was some freelance reviewer. I said no. Then he took a closer look at my stash. He said, that book isn’t black, it should be called … The Red and Sepia Book.

I feigned amusement and shrugged it off.

Then more of my office mates passed by my station. One of them, a fan of Tolkien, read the blurb of my Saramago book with what seemed to me like a strange interest, like I could somehow force him to read it. Then he automatically flipped the pages, carefully and one by one. Then he said that there’s nothing like the smell of paper books. He even told me of this crazy story about some company that would be manufacturing a sort of perfume that you could spritz on your e-book reader so that it would smell like … paper.

Because I agree with what he says about paper books and because of the careful way he flipped through the pages, I prioritized all his requests for the next few days.

  • The Postman Always Rings Twice by James M. Cain

Maria took me to a Fully Booked branch that I never thought existed. It is that impressive branch at Edsa Shangrila. Fortunately, there’s some stuff on sale, and I found this one from a pile of … young adult books. I’m sure it was just misplaced, maybe by some customer who changed his mind and who was too lazy to put it back where he grabbed it. Php 239.40.

By the way, I’d just like to say I was with her because we checked out a prospective café for our next book club discussion. It’s not like I need to explain, but since it’s book-related, I might as well say so. We’ll be discussing the first volume of The Lord of the Rings, and we found a café with … an archery range! How cool is that?

June 2, 2012

  • JR by William Gaddis

There were too many walk-in patients at my dentist’s clinic so I decided to kill some time at a nearby book store, which is Book Sale – Walter Mart Munoz. I find good and relatively uncommon books at this branch despite being one of the smaller stores, like my copy of The Forsyte Saga by John Galsworthy. I very much regret that I didn’t pick up Derek Walcott’s Omeros when I saw it there. I wasn’t too sure then what Walcott book I should try, and when I gathered that Omeros is his masterpiece, I went back to this branch and … you know the rest.

So when I saw JR (not a person) on a pile of hardbounds (and this is a trade paperback; a big fat one), I picked it up and paid Php 75.00 for it.

I think this is going to be a good book shopping month for me.

12 Responses to “I went book shopping twice”

  1. Diwata Luna

    I miss book hunting. But now that I’m going back to school, magagalugad ko na ulit ang Bookay at AS Walk book shop!

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Bookay’s Facebook page is really helpful, especially for us “Southerners.” I haven’t been to the other book shop you mentioned. I suppose it’s within the UP campus?

    • Diwata Luna

      Ikaw yata yung nang-hohoard sa FB ng Bookay ah… :p There’s a book shop inside the CSSP building. There are two others on campus, one at and one near the shopping center.

  2. SweetReads

    Aw. I want the Saramago’s book but when I read Bookay-ukay, I said no way. :D And I love that lost Fullybooked branch in Shangrila. Swear, I always go there alone.

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      There’s a dearth of Saramago books at the Book Sale outlets that I visit so I bought it. I saved around Php 200. Regular price is at Php 550-600.

      And what do you have against Bookay?

    • SweetReads

      I’m not against to Bookay-ukay but I don’t like the condition and the overpriced secondhand books they sell. I went there with other TFGs and I was so disappointed, the experience was worst. My memory of that day is flooded with dust and sneeze!

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

