Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

Books To Read: June 2012

Books To Read: June 2012

Books To Read: June 2012

Would you believe that I finished all my May books, plus the backlogs, before posting this monthly reading plan? It’s a first! This is an achievement, no? Although I did not finish the last book on May 31, 11:59 PM, at least I managed to clear up before coming up with another plan. So I guess the next step would be to finish the following books on the dot, don’t you think?

  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien – Our book club’s book of the month. I am now reading it, as mentioned in my post yesterday. I was a little bored with all the text before the first chapter, even the prologue. I even entertained the notion that this might not be like my The Hobbit experience at all, but once I got into the first chapter, I threw all such notions away.
  • Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout – A Pulitzer winner. I’ve heard mixed reactions on this one. Some say it’s a thoughtful novel, others say it’s a boring one. I wonder what I’d think of it? I barely have an idea on what it is, which is just so me. I wonder when will I start seriously reading others’ reviews before deciding to read a novel?
  • Absalom, Absalom! by William Faulkner – My selection for this month’s Noble Nobel Project, a project hosted here. By the way, I am the sole participant of this project since first, I never really pushed it to other bloggers, and second, I feel like reading the Nobels should be more of a personal journey than anything else. The selections are so vast that one can get lost in merely selecting what to read. Anyway, I picked Faulkner for this month because it’s been so long since I had a taste of the rich Faulknerian narrative: intricate, winding sentences that might not be sentences at all, but long fragments of consciousness.
  • Last Orders by Graham Swift – A Booker winner. It has something to do with doing the last wishes of a person who recently died, hence Last Orders. Since there seems to be a funeral in it, perhaps this was inspired by my disastrous reading of Charming Billy. no?
  • Ghostwritten by David Mitchell – I haven’t really planned on reading this novel yet since I just read Number9Dream a few months back, but who could resist a fellow fan on reading this together? Yes, I’ll be doing another buddy reading with my buddy Monique, and I hope that we enjoy this one as much as we did with The Land of Green Plums.

I think this set is well-balanced. There’s adventure, there’s drama, there’s a classic. And I confess this: I’m a little scared of Faulkner even though this is not my first encounter with him. Anyway, I’m going to do this!

17 Responses to “Books To Read: June 2012”

  1. Monique

    But wait! I thought we were reading Ghostwritten in July? *confused*

    Reply
    • Monique

      Ooooh. Sorry. Senior moment (?) yata ito. Sige, let’s do it last week of June. Hopefully by then I’m done with the other two sci-fi books I plan to squeeze in for June. They’re short novels naman. :)

    • Angus Miranda

      Senior moment it is!

      TSEH! Haha. So Ghostwritten is still OK for June? :) – from The Executioner’s Song thread.

    • Monique

      I must have meant July but wrote June instead. Haha. Sorry naman. :D

  2. Tina

    I was a little bored with all the text before the first chapter, even the prologue. – Same here! I wonder now if I should’ve read The Hobbit first, but since I’m reading Game of Thrones, I guess I don’t have the time to do that. Oh well. :)

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      But you know what, things get better when the novel really starts. It helped tremendously that I read The Hobbit a couple of weeks ago (I was excited about Bilbo’s birthday party, haha).

    • Angus Miranda

      Hahahaha! But I had more success with Faulkner than Joyce. I like his The Sound and the Fury and that short story, A Rose for Emily. Joyce, ugh. I don’t know if I can ever finish Ulysses (it’s been on my currently reading pile since April).

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

