Books To Read: June 2012

Books To Read: June 2012

Would you believe that I finished all my May books, plus the backlogs, before posting this monthly reading plan? It’s a first! This is an achievement, no? Although I did not finish the last book on May 31, 11:59 PM, at least I managed to clear up before coming up with another plan. So I guess the next step would be to finish the following books on the dot, don’t you think?

  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien – Our book club’s book of the month. I am now reading it, as mentioned in my post yesterday. I was a little bored with all the text before the first chapter, even the prologue. I even entertained the notion that this might not be like my The Hobbit experience at all, but once I got into the first chapter, I threw all such notions away.
  • Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout – A Pulitzer winner. I’ve heard mixed reactions on this one. Some say it’s a thoughtful novel, others say it’s a boring one. I wonder what I’d think of it? I barely have an idea on what it is, which is just so me. I wonder when will I start seriously reading others’ reviews before deciding to read a novel?
  • Absalom, Absalom! by William Faulkner – My selection for this month’s Noble Nobel Project, a project hosted here. By the way, I am the sole participant of this project since first, I never really pushed it to other bloggers, and second, I feel like reading the Nobels should be more of a personal journey than anything else. The selections are so vast that one can get lost in merely selecting what to read. Anyway, I picked Faulkner for this month because it’s been so long since I had a taste of the rich Faulknerian narrative: intricate, winding sentences that might not be sentences at all, but long fragments of consciousness.
  • Last Orders by Graham Swift – A Booker winner. It has something to do with doing the last wishes of a person who recently died, hence Last Orders. Since there seems to be a funeral in it, perhaps this was inspired by my disastrous reading of Charming Billy. no?
  • Ghostwritten by David Mitchell – I haven’t really planned on reading this novel yet since I just read Number9Dream a few months back, but who could resist a fellow fan on reading this together? Yes, I’ll be doing another buddy reading with my buddy Monique, and I hope that we enjoy this one as much as we did with The Land of Green Plums.

I think this set is well-balanced. There’s adventure, there’s drama, there’s a classic. And I confess this: I’m a little scared of Faulkner even though this is not my first encounter with him. Anyway, I’m going to do this!