Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

Extra Copies and Recommendations

The toddler got me

The toddler got me

May is not a good month for me as far as book shopping is concerned. Really, I haven’t been going around book stores recently for this a financially difficult month for me. Let’s stop right there, but if you are concerned, I am slowly recovering, yes.

Even so, I could barely find anything that interests me when the urge to snoop around book stores becomes unbearable. The case, as usual, is that I already own the books that I find interesting. Anyway, here are the recent books that I unearthed from one book store, one of my favorite Book Sale branches, the one at Makati Square.

May 17, 2012

  • The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara – I already have a mass market copy of this, but this trade paperback is too cheap to let go. It is in very good condition, no creases, vanilla-ish odor, might have never been read, so I bought it since I had nothing else to buy. Php 25.00.

May 29, 2012

  • Mother’s Milk by Edward St. Aubyn – I was intrigued by this because local author and blogger Jessica Zafra wrote a compelling review of it. My office mate told me about the review during our lunch break, thinking that I haven’t seen it yet. I am not usually swayed by reviews, but when Zafra devotes one blog post for one book, it must mean something. Call me a fan, yes, and I would not deny it. I still trust her judgment when it comes to books. She raved about David Mitchell before anyone I knew mentioned him to me. I just ignored those, and what a shame! If I had just listened, I might have discovered Cloud Atlas and Jacob de Zoet earlier. And then there are the War and Peace, Blood Meridian, and The Sense of an Ending reading groups: powerful reads that I might not have read sooner had it not been for her. Php 115.00.
  • The Norton Anthology of Short Fiction – The fourth edition. I intend to buy the most recent edition (seventh) at Book Depository, but I could not resist this older edition. Actually, I already have the third edition, one increment older, and when I checked and compared these two, there isn’t a lot of difference. Only about a dozen short stories were dropped and added, and it is a minute change compared to the almost 150 short stories in the seventh edition. You might ask why obsess over this. Well, I intend to pursue yet another project next year, which is to read at least one short story per week from this anthology and then answer the accompanying questions. If you are interested in such a project, please let me know so that we could work something out. But let me just make it clear that I am really solid in pursuing it. Php 235.00.
5 Responses to “Extra Copies and Recommendations”

  1. themisanthropologist

    I’ve been lucky the last few times I visited BS. During my last visit, I got a copy of Black Swan Green, which I took as a sign to read more David Mitchell :) Have you ever seen copies of his Number9dream at BS?

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Nope. The other Mitchell novels I saw (aside from Black Swan Green) are Cloud Atlas and Ghostwritten. Sooner or later, number9dream might say hello.

    • themisanthropologist

      I think both those books are stream of consciousness…to some degree? I’m curious about Cloud Atlas, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to get through it…How was it?

    • Angus Miranda

      No, not in the stream of conscious ways of Woolf and Faulkner. Cloud Atlas is magnificent. I think it’s his magnum opus.

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

