These are pretty important books

The necessity of these books

Dream Angus by Alexander McCall Smith – It is necessary to have this book because the Celtic god is my namesake. I’ve been longing to have a copy of this for that reason. Our bookish friend, Doc Ranee, promised to give me this book, and yes, although the promise was delayed for almost five months, it’s now a promise fulfilled. Promises are never broken; they remain to be promises until you can come back to make them come true. Anyway, the book is a hardback first US edition. I don’t know what to expect from this, but expect something to come out of this, like another blog project. Wink, wink. XXXX. (May 7, 2012. Thanks Doc!)

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien – It is necessary to have this book because this edition, this orange trade paperback, matches and completes my Lord of the Rings books. The mass market copy that I have before this one, the green one, I will still keep for the purpose of sentimentality, if ever sentimentality has even a vague purpose. That green one was a Christmas gift from an office mate, so there. (May 8, 2012. Book Sale – Makati Square. Php 180.00)

Uncensored: Views and (Re)views by Joyce Carol Oates – It is necessary to have this book because there are write-ups about some of the books that I’ve recently read and books that I love and books that I’m looking forward to read. The mishmash of books and life fragments of Sylvia Plath, Willa Cather, Robert Penn Warren, Richard Yates, Muriel Spark, E. L. Doctorow, Anita Brookner, Kazuo Ishiguro (yes!), Andrea Barrett, Hilary Mantel, Pat Barker, Emily Bronte, Ernest Hemingway, Carson McCullers, and Don DeLillo made me run to the counter to secure my ownership of the book. (May 8, 2012. Book Sale – Makati Square. Php 115.00)