Books To Read: May 2012

Argh. When will I ever finish my monthly reading plan? I’m always behind, and this time, it’s worse. I’ve only finished two of my required readings last month, which is not really alarming because these two are quite thick. The other two I can finish easily, probably within a week? And what of Ulysses? I decided to read at least one episode a week. Or maybe I could do two to three if things pick up.

So what I did for this month is that I picked not so thick books. Three slim volumes, yes. I hope I can manage this time.

  • White Teeth by Zadie Smith – I’ve seen four copies of this over the weekend at Book Sale branches, but no, I’m reading the edition that I bought months ago from an online seller. I was thinking of reading it on the hardbound edition given/lent by Aldrin, but that’s too heavy for my brittle bones to lug around. I might choke myself to death if I attempt reading it while lying on my back.
  • Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – My first young adult fiction. Do I hear a fanfare? I think my friends from our book club are more excited than I am. Really, I do not know what to expect. I should expect young protagonists, right? I’ve just read a number of reviews, and everyone seems to be raving about it. Thanks to Tina for lending me hear neat copy!
  • Motherless Brooklyn by Jonathan Lethem – A National Book Critics Circle winner. After the Pulitzer’s snobbery of this year’s works in fiction, I decided to put my whole trust in this award-giving body. It is now officially my favorite award! Of course, I’ll still read them Pulitzers and Bookers and NBAs and IMPACs.
  • The Land of Green Plums by Herta Muller – My pick for my Nobel Project. This is the book that I got from the exchange gift that we had during our book club’s Christmas party (thanks Ayban for looking for a copy everywhere!), and I will be reading this with Atty. Monique. I think this is going to be the fourth book that we read together, the others being A Passage to India, The Grapes of Wrath, and Gone with the Wind.
  • Charming Billy by Alice McDermott – I don’t know, but there’s something funny about the title although it’s about a funeral. I always joke about this book eventually becoming the book of my life, and the time has come to find out whether it will be my book or not.

I have no classics for this month because my backlog consists of two classics. Oh well. I hope I can manage this time. Without considering Ulysses, of course. Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “Books To Read: May 2012

  1. Excited to read Muller! When are we starting this, Buddy? Just give me a heads up, I’m reading American Gods right now but will drop it if you’re up for Muller already. :)

Thoughts? Feelings?

