Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

April is the cruelest month

Small, Medium, Large

Small, Medium, Large

It’s surprising that I haven’t bought any books for the past couple of weeks at sale bins because I couldn’t find any books that I like. Cruel, no? I feel like something’s not right when this happens, so I took advantage of the summer sale at National Book Store. It’s almost the end of April, and had it not been for the discount, this would have been a bookless month.

  • The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky¬†- Is it spelled with or without the letter Y? My edition is spelled without it, and why I am sticking with the Y? Never mind. I was really looking for Doctor Zhivago, but I couldn’t find one. And then I found this.¬†Php 668.00, NBS – Greenbelt 1, April 13, 2012.
  • Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres – This was given to me by Miss Veronica during the 2nd anniversary of our book club. I am not sure when the anniversary exactly is, but it’s mid-April. This time, we decided on April 15. I think I should write about that. Anyway, whenever Miss Veronica gives me books, I couldn’t say no. In fact, she was giving me three books, but I only took this one since I already have a copy of the other book (To Kill a Mockingbird) and one of the members asked for the other one (A Moveable Feast).
  • Gitanjali by Rabindranath Tagore – I almost bought this at Book Depository, and I’m glad I didn’t. I just got it for Php 59.50 at NBS – SM Mall of Asia last April 20, 2012. It’s one of the books in my Nobel Project, so I was really thrilled when I saw it.

I hope that soon enough, something will come up at Book Sale. I miss the thrill of finding nice books that I don’t own yet at their shelves.

6 Responses to “April is the cruelest month”

  1. bookysh

    Grrr! You have Brothers Karamazov. I made the mistake of buying one that’s a set of two and the store didn’t have the second part. Major Grrr! I wanna borrow this! Hahaha! I’m on a book ban for at least 10 years, so I’m probably safe for another month or so.

    I love Dostoyevsky. Russians. They’re great aren’t they? :)

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      I was debating whether I should get Karamazov or Doctor Zhivago and I ended up with the former. I won’t be forgetting the latter though. And book bans? They never work on me, haha!

      I was even entertaining the thought of taking Russian lessons. One could have a lot of practice with Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky!

    • bookysh

      I’ve read Crime and Punishment and I really liked it. So, yeah, I’m a fan. Was going to make Karamazov my second Dostoyevsky.

      I have to stick to my book ban. I have great books on my shelf that’s waiting to be read and buying new ones will just make me forget about them. And I’m trying to save for something.

    • Angus Miranda

      Oh, good luck then! I mean, for whatever it is that you are saving. It must be something important to impose a ten-year book ban. :D

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

