Book rants, raves, & (w)rite-ups.

The Undercover Women

Shiny happy women

Shiny happy women

I can’t remember the last time I bought a book at a regular book store, not counting the time I bought books for the nonprofit organization and the exchange gift during our book club’s Christmas party. Look, I haven’t taken these splurges out of their plastic covers yet because I don’t know when I would be reading them, particularly Anna Karenina. Jane Eyre I’ll definitely be reading soon because it’s TFG’s book of the month for April.

The splurging is a spur of the moment thing. Isn’t that always the case? I was only looking for Jane Eyre at Book Sale yesterday, March 19, but I couldn’t find any. I went to three outlets, so when I got tired of going through the shelves of mass markets, I checked out National Book Store – SM Megamall. I was only going to check out the prices.

And then I saw the posters: 20% off. I went for the cheapest Jane Eyre. Not bad. And then I saw the movie tie-in edition. Still okay. And then I saw Anna Karenina. I took a deep breath, grabbed the book, and went straight to the counter.

  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – from Php 335.00 to Php 268.00. I only intended to buy the cheapest one, but when I turned to the next aisle, I immediately saw this movie tie-in edition, and remembered Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender. Okay, Fassbender’s face is not too clear on the cover, but I can’t help it.
  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy – from Php 689.00 to to Php 551.25. I originally planned to buy this edition, translated by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky, at Book Depository. However, with the 20% discount, I think it would pretty much amount to the same thing. And I’ve been longing to have this edition ever since I saw it at Fully Booked, which they then priced at nearly a thousand pesos. And yes, I am collecting Russian novels translated by the indefatigable duo. Soon enough, I’ll be buying a Dostoyevsky or Pasternak novel.

I just checked out my previous posts and saw that I bought Fatelessness and The Piano Teacher at regular price. Funny. Does that mean that my spending is out of control or that I don’t really mind spending on books?

Perhaps I will let these fresh books slip out of their covers just to smell the paper and take off the price stickers. I don’t like seeing those. I’d like to believe that books are priceless. And in some other sense, they are.

6 Responses to “The Undercover Women”

    • Angus Miranda

      Some take it off also because the price tag “destroys” the book cover art. That’s another reason for me, albeit not the main one.

  1. Monique

    I think it’s that you actually don’t mind spending much moolah on books, and just books. Book HOARDER. :P

    Suddenly I miss smelling the papers of print books. Nothing compares, don’t you think? :)

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Hahaha, I know! I can’t help it. :D

      And even if I don’t have a Kindle/Nook, I have this feeling that e-book readers sometimes long for paper books.

  2. Tina

    Hm interestingly, I haven’t bought print books lately, save for the one I got from Book Sale after Little Prince F2F. The other books I bought these year were all ebooks (*cue gasp of horror here*).

    I haven’t spent money on any classic either — Amazon has classics for free, but there are pretty, pretty versions of classics coming out now that I want to get. Like those pretty Penguin classics versions. Hmm pretty.

    Anyway I don’t think you’ve spent too much on books. I know people who buy hoards — as in more than five every bookstore visit — and have hundreds left on the TBR (like yours truly haha). :p Your book spending habits are still pretty much in control IMHO. ;)

    Reply
    • Angus Miranda

      Thank you so much! Now I know there are worse (or better?) book shoppers than me.

      I am tempted to buy a Kindle because I think classics published 100 years ago can be acquired for free. Project Gutenberg, right? But on second thought, I cannot let go of my sentimentality. I don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing. And I never was a practical person. I like inconveniences. :D

Howdy! I'd love to hear from you. Thoughts? Reactions? Anything?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 693 other followers

