Joining The Classics Club

Half of the Classics Pile

Most people think that I am a huge classics reader when in fact, I haven’t read a lot of hardcore classics. Sure, I’ve been reading literary fiction and contemporary classics, but classics in the lines of Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, or Henry James: not yet. I even checked the number of classics that I finished, the ones that match my set of criteria; they only amount to 35. 20 of those were read last year.

Although I have a lot of the James’s novels. I haven’t touched them yet. So when I chanced upon The Classics Club, I thought that here is a good way to go back and finish my classics.

But what constitutes a classic? That entails a long debate, but generally, a classic is a work that has a theme that will endure the passing of time. This explains why classics are often associated with works published way, way before even our gramps and grams were born.

If you are interested, you can read more of The Classics Club at A Room of One’s Own. If you are up for the challenge, by all means, let’s join!

And for my list of classics, click this.